Loading
Quick Links
Legal Community
E-Business Online Services
Citizen Self Help
For Educators
Local Court Information:
spacer gif

Application for Certificate of Registration pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 721


Supreme Court Rule 721 requires a law firm that is organized as a professional service corporation, professional association, limited liability corporation or registered limited liability partnership to obtain a certificate of registration from the Supreme Court before engaging in the practice of law in Illinois.  If renewing a certificate of registration, the renewal application must be submitted by January 31.

Supreme Court Rule 722 allows a law firm that is required to register under Rule 721 to indicate it has limited liability coverage by submitting a notarized affidavit or Section 1-109 verification by certification.  The affidavit or Section 1-109 verification is optional and it is up to the determination of the firm if it is appropriate. 

Please review Supreme Court Rules 721 and 722 prior to submitting an application.


RENEWAL APPLICATIONS

Firms that are renewing their registration are encouraged to do so electronically using the Court's simplified renewal process.  The renewal fee is $40.    

  • If renewing electronically, you must use the Court's electronic filing provider.  There is a convenience fee for submitting an electronic payment.  Click here to log in or to register with the Court's e-filing provider.
  • If renewing by paper, follow the links below for an application for certificate of registration and, if applicable, a Section 1-109 verification.
  • If you are renewing your registration AND have a name change, you must submit your renewal by paper.

INITIAL APPLICATIONS

Firms that are filing an initial application must file the application by paper.  The initial application fee is $50.  Follow the links below for an application for certification of registration and, if applicable, a Section 1-109 verification.

pdf graphic Application for Certificate of Registration
pdf graphic Section 1-109 Verification by Certification

If you are submitting an application (initial or renewal) by paper, please mail the completed application, verification (if applicable), and appropriate fee to:      

Supreme Court of Illinois
Office of the Clerk
200 E. Capitol Avenue
Springfield, IL  62701-1721

 

 

FAQs

Who must register under Supreme Court Rule 721?

What are the requirements for filing under Supreme Court Rule 721?

What is Supreme Court Rule 722?

How do I apply for or renew my firm's certificate of registration?

How do I indicate I am filing under Rule 722 for purposes of limited liability insurance?

What are the filing fees?

How do I confirm my firm's incorporation date?

I have an assumed name with the Illinois Secretary of State.  Do I need to register this name with the Clerk's office?

How do I update my address with the Clerk's office? 

How do I file a name change?

What does "disciplinary action" mean? 

What if a shareholder/member/partner of the firm has a pending disciplinary action?

I was told I need to submit a motion with my application.  What are the requirements?

Should the Supreme Court be informed if the law firm is no longer in business?

Where do I mail the completed forms?

Can I e-mail the form directly to the Clerk's office?

Is there an option to file my firm's registration electronically?

My firm is renewing its registration and does not have a name change.  How do I e-file the renewal application?

Can I file my renewal electronically and mail a check? 

Can I get a copy of my e-filed application?

What if I have additional questions about e-filing? 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Who must register under Supreme Court Rule 721?

In order to engage in the practice of law in Illinois, the following entities are required to register under Supreme Court Rule 721:  professional corporations; professional associations; limited liability companies; and registered limited liability partnerships formed under Illinois law or under similar statutes of other states.

The entity must annually renew its registration by January 31.  If a firm has not renewed its registration by January 31, its registration will lapse and the firm must seek leave of Court to file its renewal or will be required to file a new application. 

 

What are the requirements for filing under Supreme Court Rule 721?

  • At least one shareholder, member or partner must be licensed to practice law in Illinois and be engaged in the practice of law in Illinois.  See Supreme Court Rule 721(a)(2). 
  • The entity must be in good standing with the Illinois Secretary of State.
  • Any shareholder, member or partner of the entity that is a law firm required to register under Supreme Court Rule 721 must be in good standing with the Illinois Secretary of State and registered with the Court prior to entity's registration. 
  • The entity must have an Illinois street address. If the firm does not maintain a law office in Illinois, then the address of the firm's registered agent in Illinois may be used. See Supreme Court Rule 721(e)(1).
  • Disciplinary action cannot be pending against any shareholder, member or partner of the entity.  See Supreme Court Rule 721(e)(5). 

 

What is Supreme Court Rule 722?

Supreme Court Rule 722 allows an entity who must register under the requirements of Rule 721 to indicate that it has limited liability insurance coverage (in lieu of joint and several liability imposed by Rule 721) by submitting a notarized affidavit or § 1-109 verification by certification.  Any affidavit or §1-109 verification must be submitted along with the application for certificate of registration.  The affidavit or § 1-109 verification is optional and it is up to the registering entity to determine if it is appropriate.

 

How do I apply for or renew my firm's certificate of registration?

The Application for Certificate of Registration can be found on the Court's website here.

 

How do I indicate I am filing under Rule 722 for purposes of limited liability insurance?

On the application, mark the box in paragraph 6  and provide either a notarized  affidavit of  insurance or a §1-109 verification stating that the firm “maintains the minimum insurance as required by Rule 722(b)(1) and/or funds as required by Rule 722(b)(3)." 

Please note if an affidavit does not comply with the requirements of Rule 722, it will be rejected.  The Clerk has provided a § 1-109 verification by certification in lieu of an affidavit. 

DO NOT submit insurance or financial documents with the affidavit of insurance or § 1-109 verification. 

 

What are the filing fees?

  • First-time filings are $50.00
  • Renewals are $40.00
  • There is no fee for a name change.

Cash, checks (however no foreign checks), money orders, and cashier's checks are accepted.  Please make checks payable to Clerk of the Illinois Supreme Court. 

 

How do I confirm my firm's incorporation date?

The Illinois Secretary of State's website can provide the firm's date of incorporation. 

 

I have an assumed name with the Illinois Secretary of State.  Do I need to register this name with the Clerk's office?

Yes.  You will need to include it on the application as part of your registered name. 

If you have not previously registered an assumed name or d/b/a with the Clerk's office, please file an application, indicating the firm has a name change and include the assumed name as part of the entity's registered name.  There is no fee for a name change.

 

How do I update my address with the Clerk's Office?

Please send a letter to the Clerk's office, on firm letterhead, stating the firm's previous address; the firm's updated address; and the effective date of the address change. 

 

How do I file a name change?

A name change application should be filed after the firm has changed its name with the Illinois Secretary of State's office.  Once you have changed your name with the Illinois Secretary of State, submit an application to the Clerk's office.  If you are filing under Supreme Court Rule 722, please include an affidavit or §1-109 verification. There is no fee for a name change.    

Please note, if the entity has changed its incorporation type (i.e., from a P.C. to an LLC), a name change is not appropriate.  Please complete a new application and submit it along with a $50 fee to the Clerk's office. 

 

What does "disciplinary action" mean?

Disciplinary action means a formal legal proceeding, instituted by the filing of a complaint under Supreme Court Rule 753(b), pending either in the Attorney Registration and Disciplinary Commission (ARDC) or the Supreme Court, or a matter in a comparable procedural posture in another jurisdiction.  A disciplinary investigation where no formal complaint has been filed against an attorney does not require acknowledgment. 

 

What if a shareholder/member/partner of the firm has a pending disciplinary action?

Should there be a formal action pending against any of the law firm's shareholders/members or partners, the law firm must submit a motion to the Court requesting permission to register or renew.  Please contact the Clerk's office at 217-782-2035 for more information.

 

I was told I need to submit a motion with my application.  What are the requirements?

If the firm needs to seek leave of Court to register or renew its registration, a motion may be filed with the Clerk’s office in Springfield.  An original and eight copies of the motion along with an original and eight copies of a proposed order phrased in the alternative should be submitted.  There is no filing fee for this type of motion; however an original or renewal application should be included with the submission, along with a check for the appropriate registration fee.  If the firm wishes to indicate it has limited liability insurance as provided by Supreme Court Rule 722, please include either an affidavit or a §1-109 verification. 

If you need to file a motion for retroactive registration or retroactive renewal, the motion must state why registration/renewal had not been made previously.  Additionally, an affidavit must be submitted that states whether there are any matters or litigation pending where registration itself may be an issue.    

Please see Supreme Court Rule 361 for more information regarding the requirements of filing a motion with the Court.

 

Should the Supreme Court be informed if the law firm is no longer in business?

It is not required that you send notice; however, if you are still collecting fees and will be keeping the firm open for that purpose only, you will need to seek leave of Court in order to renew your registration. Please see above for the requirements of filing a motion with the Court. 

 

Where do I mail the completed forms?

If using traditional mail service, please send completed forms, along with the appropriate fee ($50 original/$40 renewal) to:

Supreme Court of Illinois
Office of the Clerk
Supreme Court Building
200 East Capitol Avenue
Springfield, Illinois 62701-1721

The Clerk's Chicago location will not accept any applications for certificates of registration.

 

Can I e-mail the form directly to the Clerk's office?

No, the Clerk's office will not accept completed forms via e-mail or fax.  For information on electronic filing, please see below.

PLEASE NOTE: To ensure you are using the most up-to-date application, always use the online copy.

 

Is there an option to file my firm's registration electronically?

At this time, any firm that is renewing its registration and does not have a name change is encouraged to file electronically.  However, any firm that does have a change in firm name or is filing an initial application must submit a paper application to the Clerk's office. There is a convenience fee for submitting an electronic payment. 

 

My firm is renewing its registration and does not have a name change.  How do I e-file the renewal application?

If you are not already a user of the Court's electronic filing system, follow these instructions to sign up:

1. Go to i2file.net
2. In the "New User Registration" box, select the appropriate user (attorney, foreign attorney) and click "register."
3. Complete all required information at the "Attorney Registration" screen.
4. You will be asked to select a jurisdiction.  Please select "Illinois Supreme Court – State." 

After successfully registering as a user, you will be able to begin the renewal application process by choosing "Renew Certificate of Registration."  Please make sure you have your firm's certificate registration number and a list of all shareholders, members, or partners before you begin.  Also, please ensure that the registered user's e-mail is current as notices will be sent to the e-mail. 

 

Can I file my renewal electronically and mail a check?

No. If you are submitting a renewal application through the Court's e-filing provider, you must also pay the required fee electronically through the e-filing provider.  Please note the renewal application will not be filed until payment is made. 

 

Can I get a copy of my e-filed application?

Once payment has been made, the registered user may download the accepted and filed documents bearing the Clerk's electronic file stamp.

 

What if I have additional questions about e-filing?

Contact the Clerk's office at 217-782-2035 Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., excluding state holidays.