ILCC News Release
• Pat Quinn, Governor • Chairman (Vacant) • Gloria L. Materre, Executive Director •
State of Illinois Liquor Control Commission
Home
Licensing Division
Investigations Division
Legal Division
Industry Education
Tobacco Program
Under 21 Program
BASSET Program

Questions/Comments? Email us at: ILCC@illinois.gov

Email for website issues: ILCC.webmaster@illinois.gov
Return to Illinois homepage
Click to listen to the audio intro Download the Real Audio Player
  ILCC Industry Education Division

NEWS RELEASE

 

2013 Dram Shop Liability and Signage Dollar Limits

Amount of minimum liability coverage allowed for 2013 increased to $206,405.89

The Illinois Liquor Control Act of 1934 [235 ILCS 5/6-21(a)] requires the Illinois Comptroller to determine each year the liability limits for causes of action brought under the Act in accordance with the consumer price index-u (CPI-U) during the preceding 12-month calendar year.

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics of the United States Department of Labor, the CPI-U increased 1.74 percent during the preceding calendar year. Based upon the previous determinations, the 2013 Dram Shop Liability Limits have been adjusted as follows:

  • For causes of action involving persons injured or killed on or after January 20, 2013, the judgment or recovery under the Liquor Control Act of 1934 for injury to the person shall not exceed $64,057.00 for each person incurring damages;
  • For causes of action involving persons incurring property damage on or after January 20, 2013, the judgment or recovery under the Liquor Control Act of 1934 for property of any person shall not exceed $64,057.00 for each person incurring damages; and
  • For causes of action under the Liquor Control Act of 1934 for either loss of means of support or loss of society resulting from the death or injury of any person on or after January 20, 2013, the judgment or recovery shall not exceed $78,291.89.

For liability limits dating back to 2005, please click on Dram Shop Liability Limits on the the Illinois Comptroller's Office website. If you have additional questions regarding Dram Shop Insurance, please call the Illinois Liquor Control Commission at 312-814-2206.

Cost adjustment for signs and other advertising materials

The Illlinois Liquor Control Commission has established the adjusted dollar limitation on an annual basis beginning in January, 1997, and annually every year thereafter. The term "cost adjustment factor" means a percentage equal to the change in the Bureau of Labor Statistics Consumer Price Index-U (CPI-U) or 5 percent, whichever is greater.

Since the CPI-U increased 1.74 percent during the preceding calendar year, dollar signage limits increased by 5 percent this year. As of January 1, 2013, the following limits apply to the cost of signs and other advertising materials, which manufacturers, distributors and importing distributors provide to retailers:

  • $2,047.28 for permanent outside signs;
  • $4,586.05 for permanent inside signs; and
  • $   749.12 for temporary inside signs and other advertising materials.

Please click on TPP-10 Signage Dollar Limits for the above limits dating back to 2005. If you have additional questions regarding these limits, please call the Illinois Liquor Control Commission at 312-814-2206.


Other Industry Education Links:

News Releases

ILCC Newsletters

Illinois Liquor Control Act
Browse and/or download

Illinois Liquor Control Commission Rules and Regulations
Browse and/or download


Contact us  


Chicago Office:
(Open weekdays 8:30am-5pm)
100 W. Randolph, Ste. 7-801
Chicago, IL 60601
Ph: 312-814-2206 Fax: 312-814-2241
Map and Driving Directions


Springfield Office:
(Open weekdays 8:30am-5pm)
101 West Jefferson, Ste. 3-525
Springfield, IL 62702
Ph: 217-782-2136 Fax: 217-524-1911
Map and Driving Directions

Copyright ©2003-2014 State of Illinois