Award Winners


2007 Award Winners

Anniversary & Service Awards

Sandra L. Williams, 26 years, Hinsdale Historical Society
Stanley A. Walton III, 29 years, Hinsdale Historical Society
Shirley Stitt, 33 years, Hinsdale Historical Society

Anniversary Awards
Elgin Public Museum, 100 years


Competitive Awards

Small Institution of the Year
Midwest Museum of Natural History, Sycamore

Non-Competitive Awards

Collection Conservation
Award of Merit

Rock Island Arsenal Museum, Rock Island

Educational Programming
Award of Excellence

Raupp Museum, Archaeology Program, Buffalo Grove
Graue Mill and Museum, Farming Then and Now, Oak Brook
Sycamore Historical Society & Museum, Sycamore History Project, Sycamore
Geneva History Center, What was it Like?, Geneva

Award of Merit

Elmhurst Historical Museum, 50 Years of Collecting, Elmhurst
Winnetka Historical Society, Once Upon a Time…Growing up in Winnetka, Winnetka
Beecher Community Historical Society, T.L. Miller and H.W. Beecher, Beecher
Will County Historical Society, Treasures from the Vault, Lockport

Award of Excellence
McHenry County Historical Society, Arrival – The 1920’s, Union

Superior Achievement Award
Schuette-Biermann Farmhouse Museum, I Remember When…, Elk Grove Village
Joliet Area Historical Museum, The Route 66 Experience, Joliet

Award of Merit

St. Charles Heritage Center, The Charlemagne Quarterly Newsletter, St. Charles

Popular Publications
Superior Achievement Award

Elmhurst Historical Museum, Visionary: An Elmhurst Retrospective, Elmhurst

Promotional Merchandise
Award of Excellence

McHenry County Historical Society, Got History? Magnetic Signs, Union

Promotional and Informational Material
Superior Achievement Award

Hinsdale Historical Society, The Campaign to Rehabilitate Historic Immanuel Hall,

Scholarly Publication
Superior Achievement Award

Lakeview Museum of Arts and Sciences, Hedley Waycott: Peoria’s Premier Artist,

Special Projects
Award of Merit
St. Clair County Historical Society, John Scheel Home Restoration Project, Belleville

Award of Excellence
Vermilion County Museum Society, Behind the Tombstone – Our Place, Danville
Hinsdale Historical Society, Hinsdale Cooks!, Hinsdale

Superior Achievement Award
Aurora Regional Fire Museum, Aurora Fire Department 150th Anniversary, Aurora

The awards will be presented on October 26, at the Awards Luncheon at the Hoogland Center for the Arts in Springfield as part of the Illinois Association of Museums' Annual Conference.

Congratulations to all our winners!

© Illinois Association of Museums
Last Updated: