Dear Industrial Radiography Licensee,
Please find attached a U. S. NRC notification and newsletter regarding reports for radiography incidents. These documents clarify when an industrial radiography licensee is required to make 24-hour reports under 32 Ill. Adm. Code 340.1220(c)(2) [Illinois equivalent to 10 CFR 30.50(b)(2)]. NRC has reported that some licensees have not been making the required 24-hour notification for events in which the sealed source assembly did not return to the fully shielded position within the exposure device. These regulations state, in part, that a 24-hour report is required when equipment is disabled or fails to function as designed when the equipment is required by regulations to prevent unnecessary exposures to radiation; the equipment is required to be operable when it is disabled or fails to function; and, no redundant equipment is available to perform the required safety function. A written notification within 30 days of the incident is also required as follow-up in 32 Ill. Adm. Code 350.3048 [Illinois equivalent to 10 CFR 34.101]. As noted, these reports/notifications are required even if the malfunction can be corrected in the field. This allows regulatory agencies to track trends in device failures and make recommendations to manufacturers regarding necessary design changes.
Thank you for your attention to this important matter. No written response to this notification is necessary. If you have any questions, please contact Daren Perrero of our office at (217) 785-9947.