ILCC News Release
• Pat Quinn, Governor • Chairman (Vacant) • Gloria L. Materre, Executive Director •
State of Illinois Liquor Control Commission
Home
Licensing Division
Investigations Division
Legal Division
Industry Education
Tobacco Program
Under 21 Program
BASSET Program

Questions/Comments? Email us at: ILCC@illinois.gov

Email for website issues: ILCC.webmaster@illinois.gov
Return to Illinois homepage
Click to listen to the audio intro Download the Real Audio Player
  ILCC Industry Education Division

NEWS RELEASE

 

New license required to ship wine directly into Illinois

Application for Winery Shipper’s License now available

DATE: May 6, 2008
CONTACT: Ted Penesis
(ted.penesis@illinois.gov)


CHICAGO—Beginning June 1, 2008, all wineries shipping directly to Illinois residents must have a State of Illinois Winery Shipper’s License prior to delivery. With the passage of House Bill 429 and resultant signing of Public Act 095-0634 by Gov. Rod R. Blagojevich, wineries with an approved license will be allowed to ship up to 12 cases of wine each year per adult Illinois resident.

To ensure wine recipients are of legal age, several safety precautions have already been put into place, including the requirement that a delivery person verifies the recipient’s age and identity by checking his or her identification prior to releasing the product. “Crafting this legislation required many months of compromise and careful deliberation among all interested parties,” says Lainie Krozel, Acting Director for the Illinois Liquor Control Commission.

The Winery Shipper’s License is required for both in-state and out-of-state wineries. The fee structure ranges from $150 to $1,000 depending upon the size of winery. To download an application for the new Winery Shipper’s License, please click on the link below:

Application for Winery Shipper's License

How does this law affect liquor retailers?

Holders of a State of Illinois Retailer’s Liquor License will continue to be allowed to ship product to Illinois residents; however, it may be illegal to ship to residents in other states as this practice is subject to laws in each individual state. Likewise, out-of-state retailers are prohibited from shipping alcoholic liquor directly to Illinois consumers. Violation of another’s state law can result in an enforcement action being taken against the licensee by the ILCC. For state contact information, please visit the website of The Wine Institute, which has phone numbers, faxes, and addresses for liquor control boards in all fifty states.


Other Industry Education Links:

News Releases

ILCC Newsletters

Illinois Liquor Control Act
Browse and/or download

Illinois Liquor Control Commission Rules and Regulations
Browse and/or download

   

Contact us  


Chicago Office:
(Open weekdays 8:30am-5pm)
100 W. Randolph, Ste. 7-801
Chicago, IL 60601
Ph: 312-814-2206 Fax: 312-814-2241
Map and Driving Directions


Springfield Office:
(Open weekdays 8:30am-5pm)
101 West Jefferson, Ste. 3-525
Springfield, IL 62702
Ph: 217-782-2136 Fax: 217-524-1911
Map and Driving Directions

Copyright ©2003-2014 State of Illinois